South Punjab Province

Listen to the article

South Punjab consisted of Multan, Dera Ghazi Khan and Bahawalpur. The total population of the region is 34 million. For the creation of a new province, two-third majority in the parliament is required.


1.         We will develop a national consensus on the creation of a South Punjab province on administrative grounds.

2.         We will create political consensus by engaging political parties, people of Punjab province and the rest of Pakistan, including other stakeholders.

3.         Upon reaching consensus, we will pass legislation from the provincial assembly, and then from the two houses of parliament in Islamabad to create the legal framework for the creation of South Punjab province.

4.         We will launch an economic package for the new province to provide support in establishing the requisite infrastructure and institutions.


26 October 2018

Chief Minister Usman Buzdar constituted a 12-member executive council for the creation of south Punjab province. Former MNA Chaudhry   Cheema is the chairman of the council. The council will identify all possible issues pertaining to the creation of a separate province, engage all relevant departments to provide assistance and address all legislative matters concerning the creation of the province.  The council is to have its office at the Punjab chief minister’s office, which shall be responsible for provision of necessary.

28 October 2018

A committee was set up to develop political consensus over the creation of a new province in south Punjab on 28 October.

16 November 2018

The Punjab government decided to establish South Punjab Police Office (SPPO) to look into the matters of South Punjab. This decision was taken in light of the creation of new province.

28 November 2018

The executive council on creation of south Punjab province constituted six sub-committees to discuss various aspects of the administrative set-up. All sub-committees would work out various details of the administrative set-up and submit reports every after a fortnight.

Tahir Dhindsa, Senior Analyst and Journalist, talks about the division of Punjab and making another province.

14 December 2018

Yousuf Raza Gilani extended his party’s support for the creation of South Punjab Province.

2 January 2019

Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar said that a separate secretariat for southern Punjab would be established from the next financial year. A separate annual development programme will also be maintained.

27 January 2019

Chairman of the South Punjab council Tahir Bashir held a lunch for the public representatives of Muzaffargarh district to discuss political and public issues of the people of South Punjab (The News, 27 January 2019).

28 January 2019

The Pakistan Muslim League-N submitted a constitutional amendment bill in the National Assembly for the creation of Bahawalpur and South Punjab provinces. The PML-N lawmaker Ahsan Iqbal said that the opposition supports PTI government in making of the new provinces. The South Punjab province will comprise divisions of Dera Ghazi Khan and Multan. If the bill is passed, Bahawalpur province will have 39 National Assembly seats and South Punjab 80.